Winners In Focus – Seattle Seahawks

NFL American football team the Seattle Seahawks picked up the Sustainability & Community Award at last month’s TheStadiumBusiness Awards in recognition of the environmentally-friendly work carried out at CenturyLink Field.

The award celebrates an individual, team or venue that has achieved success in the pursuit of sustainable venue management. The Seahawks were one of a host of winners at last month’s awards ceremony, which was held at Emirates Old Trafford in Manchester.

Here’s what the judges said: “CenturyLink Field continues to be one of the most environmentally-friendly and sustainable sports and entertainment facilities in the world. In the past year alone, the Seahawks and First & Goal Hospitality (FGH) have announced partnerships covering composting – with payback in organic vegetables – ongoing energy and water usage reduction, food donations to the Salvation Army, sustainable seafood supplies and many more programmes.

“The entire stadium transitioned to paper-based, ocean-degradable straws in 2017. We recognise Century Link Field’s ongoing efforts to minimise the impact of stadium events on our shared environment.”

The other nominees in the Sustainability & Community Award were:

  • Rush2Recycle at Super Bowl LII, U.S. Bank Stadium/Minnesota Vikings, USA
  • Reds Going Green at Anfield, Liverpool FC, UK
  • #ThisIsOurIce Campaign, NHL Minnesota Wild/Xcel Energy Center, USA
  • Our Neighbourhood Initiative, Eden Park, New Zealand
  • Cleveland Cavaliers’ Quiet Space Sensory Room at Quicken Loans Arena, USA


Pictured (from left to right): Florin Bucur, general manager, Aramark Housekeeping; Zach Hensley, VP, venue operations & guest experience; David Young, SVP, operations; Christy Briggs, manager of facility logistics; John Wright, director of fields & conversion; and Michael Foster, dockmaster.

The Seahawks noted that Foster has been “one of the driving forces behind our sustainability programs from the start”. The team’s waste sorting centre is also named after Foster.

Find out more about the 2018 TheStadiumBusiness Award Winners

Image: Seattle Seahawks