USA to host cricket’s 2024 T20 World Cup

Featured image credit:

The US is to host its first-ever major international cricket event after it was selected to stage the 2024 T20 World Cup.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be staged jointly by the US and West Indies, the ICC revealed as it announced the hosts of international tournaments up until 2031. The African nation of Namibia will also host an ICC international tournament for the first time as it jointly stages 2027 ICC Cricket World Cup along with South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Back in June, the ICC announced its intention to expand its T20 World Cup competition to 20 teams and make the tournament biennial in an attempt to increase interest “outside of non-traditional markets”. As well as the opportunity to boost cricket in the US market, it is reported the ICC hopes the 2024 event being staged in the US could enhance the sport’s chances of being included in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics schedule.

USA Cricket signed an agreement to bid for major events in partnership with Cricket West Indies as part of a foundational plan for the development of the sport over the next 10 years in America.

Details on the US venues to be used have not yet been confirmed. A Cricket All-stars exhibition tournament was held in the US in 2015 and attracted attendances of between 21,000 and 36,000 at MLB ball parks in New York, Houston and Los Angeles. The likes of Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar and Shane Warne played at Citi Field, Minute Maid Park and Dodger Stadium.

Ricky Skerritt, Cricket West Indies president, said: “The success of this joint bid by CWI and USA Cricket will be a huge boost for our cricket. It offers a vital strategic opportunity to promote and develop cricket, and related commercial activity, in North America and the Caribbean. I take this opportunity to thank all those at ICC, USA Cricket and CWI who helped to make this 2024 venue selection decision possible.”

In total 14 countries will host eight ICC men’s white ball events from 2024-2031 – two ICC Men’s Cricket World Cups, four ICC Men’s T20 World Cups and two ICC Men’s Champions Trophy events.

India and Bangladesh will host the 2031 Cricket World Cup, while Pakistan will host the 2025 Champions Trophy before the 2029 edition in India.

After the 2024 event in the US and West Indies, the biennial T20 World Cup will take place in India and Sri Lanka (2026), Australia and New Zealand (2028), and England, Ireland and Scotland (2030).

Greg Barclay, ICC chair, said: “It is fantastic to be returning to so many previous hosts, but what is really exciting about this process is the countries who will stage ICC events for the first time including the USA which is a strategic growth market for us.

“This gives us the opportunity to deepen our connection with fans in traditional cricket nations and also reach new fans around the world.”

Image: Mudassir Ali on Unsplash