UEFA retains plan for 12-city Euro 2020

UEFA has reiterated its commitment to staging this summer’s European Championships across 12 host cities and has given venues until early April to make a decision on fan attendance.

The rescheduled Euro 2020 is due to take place from June 11 to July 11. The tournament, initially scheduled for last summer, will be held in 12 cities across the continent but the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic is set to cause further logistical challenges and alternative hosting models have been mooted to limit travel for teams and fans.

UEFA has however reiterated its intention to hold the tournament across the 12 cities according to the timetable that has already been published. UEFA yesterday (Wednesday) met with representatives of the 12 host associations/organisers to discuss operational matters relating to the tournament.

UEFA said that all parties “recognise the need for flexibility” around the decisions that will be made on arrangements for the tournament. UEFA added that the deadline for the submission of plans to accommodate fans inside stadiums has been moved to early April.

UEFA president Aleksander Čeferin said: “UEFA is committed to holding Euro 2020 in the 12 cities originally planned. The Euro is the flagship competition for national team football in Europe and is a vital source of funding for grassroots and wider football development.

“I am optimistic that things are highly likely to be very different with regard to the virus as we move closer to the tournament and it is important that we give the host cities and governments as much time as we can to formulate an accurate picture of what will be possible come June and July.

“Fans are such a big part of what makes football special and that is true of the Euro as much as it is of any game. We must allow ourselves the maximum space to allow their return to the stadiums.”

The 12 cities scheduled to host matches at Euro 2020 are London, Glasgow, Dublin, Bilbao, Amsterdam, Munich, Rome, Copenhagen, Budapest, Bucharest, Saint Petersburg and Baku.

London’s Wembley Stadium is due to host seven fixtures, including the semi-finals and final. Rome’s Stadio Olimpico will host the opening match between Italy and Turkey on June 11.

Image: Wembley Stadium