FIBA takes Women’s EuroBasket to Finland and Lithuania

Featured image credit: FIBA

Featured image credit: FIBA

The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) has announced that Finland and Lithuania will co-host its Women’s EuroBasket tournament in 2027.

It will mark the first time that the countries have hosted the national team tournament. Games will be played in the Finnish city of Espoo and the Lithuanian cities of Klaipeda and Vilnius.

FIBA Europe has also decided to reopen the bidding to potentially add one or two additional co-hosts alongside Finland and Lithuania. FIBA said this will ensure the tournament is hosted under the “most favourable” conditions.

Kamil Novak, executive director of FIBA in Europe, said: “The bids presented to us by Finland and Lithuania were very strong, with state-of-the-art arenas in Espoo, Klaipeda and Vilnius, quality hotels in all three cities and all the necessary infrastructure to deliver the event at the top level. 

“Following the success of the multi-hosting format in other FIBA competitions and the very positive feedback after the FIBA Women’s EuroBasket 2025 award, we have adopted the same approach for the 2027 event and will be looking to potentially add one or two more hosts to complete the line-up.”

FIBA Europe president Jorge Garbajosa added: “We are very excited to have officially confirmed Finland and Lithuania as hosts for FIBA Women’s EuroBasket 2027. Both of these countries are incredibly passionate about basketball and have a proven track record as excellent hosts. It’s evident that the women’s game is on the rise in Finland and Lithuania and I’m sure the event will add even more positive momentum.”

Finland has played in the Women’s EuroBasket five times, most recently in 1987. Lithuania has competed 11 times and won the event back in 1997.

The next FIBA Women’s EuroBasket will take place in 2025 and will be co-hosted by the Czech Republic, Germany, Greece and Italy. This year’s tournament took place in Israel and Slovenia and was won by Belgium.

Finland will also co-host the 2025 men’s EuroBasket tournament alongside Cyprus, Latvia and Poland.