Design & Development

Norwich to introduce safe standing at Carrow Road

Featured image credit: Norwich City

Norwich City has become the latest English football club to announce it will adapt its stadium to incorporate safe standing.

The Championship team has said that after a “thorough and extensive” consultation with its supporter panel, supporter groups and the Sports Ground Safety Authority (SGSA) the decision has been made to progress with safe standing at Carrow Road for the 2024-25 season.

Providers Ferco will install safe standing in the Lower Barclay, Thorpe Corner (Snake Pit) and a section of the away supporter area over the coming summer period. Ferco has previously carried out similar projects at Celtic Park and Loftus Road, the respective home stadiums of Scottish Premiership club Celtic and Norwich’s fellow Championship outfit Queens Park Rangers.

Norwich City executive director, Zoe Webber, said: “Safe standing is something we’ve been keen to implement at Carrow Road for some time, but it was important that we properly consulted our wider fanbase and the relevant safety authorities.

“We’ve had some very engaging conversations with supporter groups and official supporter panel, as well as some important feedback from season ticket holders. We’d like to thank all of those that have engaged with the club throughout this process.

“We also understand that safe standing may not be for everyone and we’ll do our utmost to accommodate supporters in other areas of the ground should they wish.”

Jon Darch, a design and specification consultant for Ferco, added: “As a long-time campaigner for safe standing and now an agent for Ferco Seating, who introduced safe standing to the UK in 2016, I’m delighted that our many years of positive discussions with Norwich City have now come to fruition and that Canaries fans will soon be able to cheer the team on standing in areas officially licensed for the purpose.”

Norwich’s announcement comes after similar news this year from the likes of Southampton, Luton Town and AFC Bournemouth.