Venues set for debut W Gold Cup

Featured image credit: BMO Stadium

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) has completed the venue line-up for its inaugural W Gold Cup, with the addition of BMO Stadium, Dignity Health Sports Park and Shell Energy Stadium.

Snapdragon Stadium in San Diego was awarded hosting rights to the final of Concacaf’s new flagship competition for women’s national teams earlier this month. Snapdragon Stadium, which opened just over a year ago, has now been confirmed for multiple match dates, including the semi-finals, alongside fellow Major League Soccer (MLS) venues BMO Stadium (LAFC), Dignity Health Sports Park (LA Galaxy) and Shell Energy Stadium (Houston Dynamo).

The W Gold Cup will run from February 17 to March 10. Following a six-team prelims stage, 12 teams will enter a group stage – eight Concacaf national teams and four from the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol).

So far, El Salvador has secured its place in the prelims, while Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Paraguay and the United States will enter from the group stage.

Concacaf president, Victor Montagliani, said: “The Concacaf W Gold Cup is a key part of the Confederation’s women’s football strategy that we launched in 2019, with the aim of developing and growing all aspects of the women’s game in our region.

“It promises to be a high-quality tournament showcasing some of the best teams and players in the world. I want to personally thank the four cities and venues for their commitment to Concacaf and women’s football. They will all make tremendous hosts for a competition celebrating the best of women’s football.”